Tuesday, May 24, 2016 - Loading…

Published: Wednesday, 8/28/2013


Liberty-Benton Eagles

Blanchard Valley Conference

2013 Liberty-Benton Eagles 2013 Liberty-Benton Eagles

Team photo from left:

Row 1: Dylan Van Den Eynde, Joel Bell, Bobby Snook, Chase Cook, Brandon May, Chris Warrington, Anthony Webb

Row 2: Grant Kinsinger, Chase Conkle, Cody Cornwell, Casey Fowler, Colton Bond, Eric Peverly, Kyle Bell, Trey Cruz, Justin Iott, Austin Combs, Allan Hartley

Row 3: Matt Groves, Matt Loughman, Trevor Springer, Nathan Craft, B.J. Lawson, Colton Smith, Jake Rozelle, Mitch Rhodes, Alec Rhodes, Jacob Schimmoeller, Mason Rose, Cole Smith

Row 4: Samuel Bell, Nick Burner, James Chandler, Clay Lenhart, Anthony Masterlasco, Jacob Nichols, Kyle Mankins Kegan Kaedong, Evan Stump, Cody Bachorik.

Row 5: Coaches Jeff Lease, Jason Elchert, Aaron Dietsch, Michael Busch, Ryan Cook, Scott Arnold, Scott Garlock, head coach Tim Nichols, Jake Warrington, Brandon Pickett

Not Pictured: Nate Aydt



Coach: Tim Nichols, seventh year

Last season: 12-2, 8-1 Blanchard Valley Conference

Returning letter winners: 13

Returning starters: Offense 5, defense 8

Schemes: Spread offense, 4-3 defense

Top players: Seniors Chase Cook, 5-9, 160, WR; Chris Warrington, 12, 6-0, 210, OL; Joe Bell, 5-7, 170, DB; Anthony Webb, 5-10, 180, LB; Brandon May, 6-2, 230, DE; Junior Austin Combs, 5-11, 215, RB.

Outlook: The Eagles hope to ride a strong, experienced defense with eight starters back to compete for a league crown again after finishing second last season.

"We are comfortable right now with where our defense is," Nichols said. "We return six of our front seven, so we expect our play to be high on that side of the ball."

The Eagles will count on sophomore quarterback Nathan Craft.

"Hopefully we can get the running game going and get him comfortable early," Nichols said.

Success in the BVC won't be easy as several teams look to be improved.

"The league overall should see a lot of improvement," Nichols said. "The past few years, it's been a three-team race with McComb, Leipsic and us. Now I think it could be five teams with Van Buren and Arlington in the mix."



Aug. 30-Bucyrus Wynford

Sep. 6-McComb

Sep. 13-at Vanlue

Sep. 20-Cory-Rawson

Sep. 27-Arcadia

Oct. 5- Detroit Edison PSA

Oct. 11-at Pandora-Gilboa

Oct. 18-at Leipsic

Oct. 25-at Van Buren

Nov. 1-Arlington

Recommended for You

Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.

Related stories