Saturday, August 30, 2014 - Loading…

Published: Monday, 4/29/2013

Mayor touts spring, summer events in Sylvania

BY CRAIG STOUGH
SYLVANIA MAYOR
Sylvania Mayor Craig Stough. Sylvania Mayor Craig Stough.
Enlarge

Sylvania is always a wonderful place to be in spring and summertime and 2013 looks like another great year for our community.

Here are some of the many community events already being planned for our residents to enjoy and participate in, and to welcome visitors to Sylvania:

Thursday, May 9: Spring Downtown Delights as organized by the Downtown Sylvania Association in downtown Sylvania.

Saturday, May 11: S.C.A.T. 24 hour relay fundraiser at Timberstone Junior High.

Sunday, May 18: Downtown Sylvania Car Show as organized by the Chamber of Commerce.

Monday, May 27: Memorial Day Parade through downtown Sylvania to Veterans Memorial Field for Memorial Day Service.

Saturday, June 1, and Sunday, June 2: Maple and Main Art Show in downtown Sylvania as organized by the Chamber of Commerce and Sylvania Art Commission.

Sunday, June 9: Race for Recovery Triathlon starting at Tam O’Shanter.

Thursday, June 13: Movie Night in downtown Sylvania as organized by the Chamber of Commerce.

Saturday, June 15: Sylvania Cup Vintage Base Ball Tournament at Pacesetter Park as organized by the Sylvania Great Black Swamp Frogs Base Ball Club.

Wednesday, July 3: Sylvania Independence Day Fireworks at Centennial Terrace organized by the Sylvania Area Joint Recreation District.

Saturday, July 7: Sylvania Criterium Bicycle Race near Burnham Park.

Saturday, July 13: Sylvania Riverball Race in Harroun Park to benefit the Sylvania Conservation Corps.

Week of July 15: Marathon LPGA Golf Tournament at Highland Meadows Golf Club.

Thursday, July 18: Taking it to the Streets – Welcome Marathon LPGA event in downtown Sylvania as organized by the Chamber of Commerce.

Friday, July 26 and Saturday, July 27: Pizza Palooza at Centennial Terrace as organized by the Chamber of Commerce.

Thursday, August 8: Movie Night in downtown Sylvania as organized by the Chamber of Commerce.

Sunday, August 11: Sylvania Triathlon/Duathlon staged out of Olander Park and Tam O'Shanter by Jim Donaldson and Elite Endeavors.

Saturday, Sept. 14: “Almost Oktoberfest” in downtown Sylvania.

Sunday, Sept. 15: Fossil Fest in downtown Sylvania.



Guidelines: Please keep your comments smart and civil. Don't attack other readers personally, and keep your language decent. If a comment violates these standards or our privacy statement or visitor's agreement, click the "X" in the upper right corner of the comment box to report abuse. To post comments, you must be a Facebook member. To find out more, please visit the FAQ.

Related stories